• England – Anglia
  • Scotland – Szkocja
  • Wales – Walia
  • Northern Ireland, Ulster – Irlandia Północna
  • the most important rivers – najważniejsze rzeki
    • the Thames,
    • the Severn
  • islands – (ważniejsze) wyspy
    • the Isle of Wight,
    • the Isle of Man,
    • the Shetlands,
    • the Orkneys,
    • the Hebrides
  • mountain ranges – łańcuchy górskie
    • the Pennines (England),
    • the Cambrian Mountains (Wales),
    • the Grampians (Scotland),
    • the Caledonian Mountains (Scotland)
  • the main ports – główne porty
    London, Liverpool, Southampton
  • England – Anglia
  • capital – London
  • The Lake District – Kraina Jezior
  • moors – wrzosowiska
  • Scotland – Szkocja
  • capital – Edinburgh
  • Glasgow
  • Ben Nevis – najwyższy szczyt Wielkiej Brytanii
  • the Highlands – pogórze w północnej Szkocji
  • the Lowlands – obszar nizinny
  • loch – jezioro
  • firth – zatoka
  • Wales – Walia
  • capital – Cardiff
  • Northern Ireland – Irlandia ­Północna
  • capital – Belfast

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland is situated in the British Isles off the north-western coast of continental Europe, and surrounded by the North Sea, the English Channel, the Celtic Sea, the Irish Sea and the Atlantic Ocean. The United Kingdom, often (inaccurately) referred to simply as ‘Britain’, is a constitutional monarchy composed by the political union of four constituent parts: the three constituent countries of England, Scotland, and Wales on the island of Great Britain, and the province of Northern Ireland on the island of Ireland.

Most of England consists of lowland terrain, divided east from west by more mountainous region in the Northwest (the Lake District) and north (the upland moors of the Pennines). The main rivers are the Thames and the Severn. The largest urban area is Greater London. Near Dover, the English Channel links the United Kingdom with France.

Scotland’s geography is varied, with lowlands in the south and east and highlands in the north and west, including Ben Nevis, the UK’s highest mountain at 1359 metres. There are many long and deep-sea arms, firths and lochs. A multitude of islands west and north of Scotland are also included, notably the Hebrides, Orkney Islands and Shetland Islands. The capital city is Edinburgh, the centre of which is a World Heritage Site. The largest city is Glasgow.

Wales is mostly mountainous, the highest peak being Snowdon at 1085 metres above sea level. North of the mainland is the island of Anglesey. The largest and capital city is Cardiff, located in South Wales.

Northern Ireland
Northern Ireland, making up the north-eastern part of Ireland, is mostly hilly. The main cities are Belfast and Londonderry.